Malaysia: Yang di-Pertuan Besar Negeri Sembilan's Birthday

Malaysia is a parliamentary democracy with a federal constitutional monarch. All the states in Malaysia are constitutional monarchies except for Penang, Melaka, Sarawak and Sabah. Unlike the states that have a hereditary monarch called ‘Sultan’, Negeri Sembilan has a ‘Yang Di-Pertuan Besar’. However, the office does not differ in powers but differs in how the ruler is chosen.

The Yang Di-Pertuan Besar is elected by a council of undangs (ruling chiefs) upon the death of the former Yang Di-Pertuan Besar. The Yang Di-Pertuan Besar resides at the royal city of Seri Menanti in Kuala Pilah District.

The current Yang Di-Pertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan is Tuanku Muhriz Ibni Almarhum Tuanku Munawir. He was elected as Yang Di-Pertuan Besar after the demise of his uncle in 2008. He is the eleventh Yang Di-Pertuan Besar since the position was created in 1773. The birthday of the Yang Di-Pertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan falls on January 14.