Yang di-Pertuan Agong's Birthday

Malaysia practises a democratic constitutional monarchy system, in which the Yang di-Pertuan Agong (King) is the head of state and the Prime Minister is the head of the government. Nine of the thirteen states in Malaysia are constitutionally headed by traditional Malay rulers. Every five years, the rulers will convene in the Coference of Rulers toelect among themselves a Yang di-Pertuan Agong as the head of state for Malaysia for a five-year term.
For many years, the official birthday of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong was celebrated on the first Saturday of June. The official birthday of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong is not the actualdate of birth of the reigning King but is mandated by law to represent the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong’s official birthday. With the recent coronation of the new Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Sultan Muhammad V, the Malaysian Government amended the official birthday celebration to September 9, for the next five years.
During the Yang di-Pertuan Agong's official birthday, government officials, state diplomats and guests will attend the Honours List Ceremony. During the ceremony, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong will bestow the Honours List recipients with state orders, medals and their accompanying titles. There will also be a celebration parade in Kuala Lumpur to commemorate the Yang di-Pertuan Agong's Birthday.