Penang is a state located at the northwest of Peninsular Malaysia. It is the second smallest state in Malaysia, comprising mainland Penang and Penang Island. It is one of the four states in Malaysia without hereditary monarchies. The head of state for Penang is the Governor or Tuan Yang Terutama Yang diPertua Negeri.